WordPress gave me hope and a suit of armor

I read this post, http://shannonathompson.com/2013/09/27/why-wordpress-is-so-important-to-me/ and thought that it’s time to give credit where credit is due.

I’ve been blogging a few years. Not sure how long. 3…4…5 years maybe? But during that time, I jumped from blogging platform to blogging platform then found WordPress.

And I’ve loved WordPress from Day 1. Thanks to the people behind this awesome platform, blogging has been a lot less lonely and a lot less difficult.

Before WordPress, I seriously started to doubt myself. I didn’t know what I was doing and I just felt lost in the sea of website addresses and had almost given up on writing. Every post published, every word of it that came after that was from sheer will and hope that somehow it was getting me somewhere, even though some part of me felt it was all useless. And that, at some point, what I thought was useless. That I wasn’t meant to change the world or touch at least one person with the written word.

I definitely can’t say that there’s any other blogging platform that truly understands the blogging community more than those working to make WordPress better. I’ve never seen so much support coming from developers.

The community has made me more confident in my blogging. I now see more value in my thoughts and ideas. The WordPress team has also armed me with more reasons to write, with more things to keep my brain going.

Though I’m not quite where I want to be as a blogger and writer, the WordPress community and Automattic has given me strength to keep on going.

My experience may be nowhere near to being an equivalent of Shannon Thompson’s but it just goes to show the extent of the effect that WordPress has.

2 thoughts on “WordPress gave me hope and a suit of armor

Leave a Reply

