I just have to share about this one.

I just have to share about this one.

I read in today’s paper, “Pinay one of best teachers in New York.” (That wasn’t exactly the title but that was the thought.) It was one of those mixed-emotion moments. This time it was pride and sadness.

This was clear proof of the greatness that Filipinos were inborn with. And also clear proof how difficult life is here in the Philippines that she couldn’t practice her desired profession in her homeland and earn a decent living at the same time. The sadness outweighed the pride that I couldn’t read past the headline.

I don’t blame her. I don’t know who to blame. The government? And what about us? What are we doing to better our country? What has anyone been doing? I don’t know who to blame. But I know that there’s enough blame to go around. And that it shouldn’t have to be this way.

One big problem with us is that we take everything for granted. It happens even to the best of us but it seems to be even a bigger problem with us Filipinos. We don’t recognize what we have until some other country snatches it up. Our countrymen achieve greatness and recognition elsewhere and THEN we’re so quick to say, “Hey, they’re Pinoy!” As if somehow we’re responsible for their success. We then implicitly yet obviously pressure them to say something favorable about our country and our people and act all gracious to the nation as if we had bred them for success.

We could be so much more. As a nation. But somehow we’re not.

One thought on “I just have to share about this one.

  1. Pingback: What would I do if I started all over? | Ultimate Magnetic Marketing

Leave a Reply

